Team Members

ReBUILDetroit is an NIH-funded undergraduate program to increase the number of underrepresented students on their pathway to become scientific researchers. The consortium of University of Detroit Mercy, Wayne State University and pipeline partner Henry Ford College, form the ReBUILDetroit Project. The mission to equip underrepresented undergraduate students with the necessary education, confidence and exposure to research has been led during the past several years by these key individuals. Learn more about our current team members.


Principal Investigators


Katy Snyder, Ph.D. Dean of Engineering and Science and Co-PI of the ReBUILDetroit grant (UDM)
Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Ph.D. Dean of Graduate School and Co-PI of the ReBUILDetroit (WSU)
















Pipeline partner Henry Ford College, form the ReBUILDetroit Project to fuel the academic renaissance of Detroit by establishing it as the center for biomedical research training for underrepresented undergraduate students.

Student Success Team

Mentoring plays a significant role in ReBUILDetroit. Scholars have a built-in support network of peers, peers at partnering institutions, graduate students and Faculty at all partnering institutions.

Shetina Jones, Ph.D. Dir. ReBUILDetroit Student Success
Farron McIntee, Ph.D. Dir. Research Enrichment Core
Jennifer Tabb
ReBUILDetroit Program Coordinator
Airik Sanders, M.S.
Community College Coordinator
Tommie L. Smith ReBUILDetroit Student Success Coach
Jahzara D. Mayes, Ed.D. Institutional Development Core Coordinator
Lan Ma, M.S. ReBUILDetroit Data Analyst






Jonathan D. Rhodes
Web, Technology & Social Media Specialist